POLCAN2ID#: 3515
Date: 2019-05-01
Time: 00:00:00
Sent by:
Category: General Message
Subject: Call for Nominations - Clay Morgan Award for Best Book in Environmental Political Theory

Call for Nominations (Deadline 17 June 2019):

Clay Morgan Award for Best Book in Environmental Political Theory


The Environmental Political Theory Section of the Western Political Science Association (WPSA) invites nominations for the Third Annual Clay Morgan Award for the Best Book in Environmental Political Theory.


The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding scholarship, published in a book-length monograph, which utilizes the resources, literatures, and approaches of the field of political theory to address intersections between contemporary or historical environmental challenges on the one hand and the philosophical and ideological concepts, principles, and debates animating political life on the other. While the focus of the award is on political theory, we welcome books that make a contribution to the field from related disciplines – including, but not limited to, anthropology, environmental humanities, ethnic studies, geography, indigenous studies, philosophy, political economy, science and technology studies, or sociology.


Nominations must have been originally published within last three calendar years (2017-2019). Books may be co-authored, but edited collections are not eligible. Questions may be directed to the committee chair, Teena Gabrielson: tgabrie1@uwyo.edu.


The committee anticipates announcing the award winner by September 2019. The author will be recognized and their book will be the subject of a roundtable discussion at the next WPSA annual meeting, in Los Angeles in April 2020.


Nominations will be accepted from authors, colleagues, and/or publishers. To be considered, arrangements should be made for the publisher to mail copies of the nominated book to the four committee members, below, to arrive by 17 June 2019

Teena Gabrielson, Chair

College of Arts and Sciences, Dept. 3254

1000 E. University Ave

Laramie, WY  82071

Hard copy books, please


Emily Ray

Sonoma State University

Stevenson Hall, 2070

1801 E. Cotati Ave

Rohnert Park, CA 94928

Hard copy books, please


Andrew Biro

Department of Politics

Acadia University

15 University Ave.

Wolfville, NS  B4P 2R6 Canada

Hard copy books, please


Jennifer Lawrence
College of Architecture and Urban Studies 

C/O Christine Mattsson-Coon 

1325 Perry Street

202 Cowgill Hall (MC 0205)

Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

Hard copy books, please


The namesake of the award: Clay Morgan was an acquisitions editor in the field of environmental studies, first with SUNY Press and then for many years with MIT Press. He retired in January 2014. Throughout his career, Clay was uniquely influential in acquiring manuscripts in the field of environmental political theory, and thereby in helping to cultivate, shape, and support the development of this scholarly field. 



The Canadian Political Science Association (CPSA) does not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of these messages. Opinions and findings that may be expressed in the messages are not necessarily those of the CPSA or its Directors, Officers and employees. Anyone using the information does so at their own risk and shall be deemed to indemnify the CPSA from any and all injury or damage arising from such use. Moreover, the CPSA does not sponsor, review or monitor the contents of sites accessible via hyperlinks. Messages are posted in the language received.